• Recently confirmed Gold Sponsors: Botswana Investment & Trade Centre; Jumo; BVI Finance; FSD Africa;
  • Recently confirmed Gold Sponsors: responsAbility; SBM; CDC; Proparco; IFC; BIO;
  • Recently confirmed Gold Sponsors: African Development Bank; Mauritius International Financial Centre; AFMI;
  • Recently confirmed Gold Sponsors: Frontera Capital; ens; Jersey Finance; TCX;
  • Recently confirmed Gold Sponsors: UK aid; ada microfinance; ABAX; Verdant Capital;
  • Recently confirmed Gold Sponsors: Confident Asset Management Limited; RSM; LCF Securities;
  • AFSIC 2017: 3rd - 5th May 2017, Park Plaza Riverbank, London, UK

The Caine Prize for African Writing

The Caine Prize for African Writing

The Caine Prize, awarded annually for African creative writing, is named after the late Sir Michael Caine, former Chairman of Booker plc and Chairman of the Booker Prize management committee for nearly 25 years. The £10,000 Prize is awarded for a short story by an African writer published in English (indicative length 3,000 to 10,000 words). An “African writer” is normally taken to mean someone who was born in Africa, or who is a national of an African country, or whose parents are African.

Eleven workshops have been held to date, one a year from 2003, four of them in South Africa, four in Kenya, one in Ghana, one in Cameroon and one in Uganda. The 2013 workshop was held in Uganda, this year’s workshop will be held in Zimbabwe and further workshops are planned elsewhere in Africa in the coming years.  The stories from the workshop are published in the annual Caine Prize anthology by New Internationalist and co-published by 7 African publishers in Ghana, Nigeria, Uganda, South Africa, Zambia, Zimbabwe and Kenya.

The Caine Prize is principally sponsored by The Oppenheimer Memorial Trust, the Booker Prize Foundation, the DOEN Foundation, Sigrid Rausing & Eric Abraham, Weatherly International plc, China Africa Resources, Exotix, CSL Stockbrokers and Miles Morland. Other funders include the British Council, The Beit Trust, Commonwealth Writers, the cultural initiative from the Commonwealth Foundation, The Lennox & Wyfold Foundation, the Royal Overseas League and Kenya Airways.

Previous winners of the Caine Prize for African Writing are Sudan’s Leila Aboulela (2000), Nigerian Helon Habila (2001), Kenyan Binyavanga Wainaina (2002), Kenyan Yvonne Owuor (2003), Zimbabwean Brian Chikwava (2004), Nigerian Segun Afolabi (2005), South African Mary Watson (2006), Ugandan Monica Arac de Nyeko (2007), South African Henrietta Rose-Innes (2008), Nigerian EC Osondu (2009), Sierra Leonean Olufemi Terry (2010), Zimbabwean NoViolet Bulawayo (2011), Nigerian Rotimi Babatunde (2012) and Nigerian Tope Folarin (2013)

Follow us on Twitter: @CainePrize

Read our blog: